Lone Wild Releases Debut Self-Titled Album

On Friday, April 5th, Lone Wild released their debut album, Lone Wild. The album consists of fourteen songs and lasts about fifty-one minutes. Three of the fourteen songs included are a prelude (“Lone Wild”), an interlude (“Homa”), and a postlude (“Feel the Love”).

The entirety of the album can only be described as dance rock. With catchy, upbeat tunes and the hint of 80’s influence, the band throws themselves into the increasingly popular alternative pop genre.

Beginning with the prelude, “Lone Wild,” the album starts with distant voices speaking incoherently. Sixteen seconds later, “Danger Cat” begins playing. Lyrics describing hunting a “danger cat” are chased with steady beats and a suspenseful melody.

“Stranger Ways” is the next track to play. Dreamlike vocals paired with a swaying melody make for an almost seductive draw as the vocalist bemoans the movement of his partner.

The next few songs continue to employ the dance-rock, pop influenced style that bands like the 1975, Bleachers, and Bad Suns have found successful. The music is the kind that contains somewhat serious themes but hides them under a preppy dance blanket of sound.

“Wild Child” is the best example of that preppy dance blanket. From the start, feet are tapping and fingers are snapping. By the middle of the song, it’s pretty much a guarantee to be singing “I’m a wild child/you can’t tame me.” It’s the kind of song that deserves to be shouted while spinning in dizzying circles; it’s the kind of song that will eventually become someone’s anthem.

The following songs are the warm, spinning “Up with the Sun,” the warning of “Spitfire,” and the disco-reminiscent “Sequin Dress.” Each one of these is entirely different from the others, but they are all heavy on keys and inspire their own moves – whether the moves are the spinning of the sunny 7th track or the finger-snapping of a “spitfire” or the kind found at a disco.

“Homa,” the interlude, breaks up the songs with the recording of a phone call in a different language, one of their songs playing in the background. From what I can tell, there is no specific purpose of the split other than to give a background and some additional color. It does lead into the next song, “Seasons,” though.

One of the slower tracks off of the album, “Seasons” is a love song that compares love to different aspects of the seasons. The whole five minutes and sixteen seconds is a beautiful, wistful melody of someone yearning for a reunion with their loved one.

Much like the ending score to a movie, “Feel the Love” ties the whole album up in under a minute. The postlude brings images of the main character of a movie disappearing into the sunset to mind – the perfect “GOODBYE” or “See you later!”

Altogether, the album is beautifully done.

Check out Lone Wild on all social media and music streaming sites.

Published by Caity Robb

Instagram - caity_robb Twitter - @CaityRobb

One thought on “Lone Wild Releases Debut Self-Titled Album

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: